Arriving in China: Part 4/6 “Hostel” (continued)

Settling in (continued):

Driver: “We’ll come back for you in two days, and bring you to your school. Now, get some sleep.”

Me: “I don’t know if sleep is really in the cards right now, but sure.”

Driver: “Will see you soon.”

Me: “Okay, bye.”

As he closed the door behind him, I braced myself for an intense sensation. As my eyes focused in on the fluffy bed beneath me, my canvas backpack dropped to my side. I bent my knees into a squat like position, and launched myself four feet into the air.

One Mississippi, two Mississippi, three Missi… BOOM!

Pigeons were flying above me for at least a minute. My body felt as though I had just run into a brick wall at 100/mph.

As I regained consciousness, I pulled myself to the end of the bed and noticed that it didn’t budge an inch. I manifested all of the energy within me while my back ached in pain, and tore the sheets off of the mattress.

As I bent back onto my legs and inspected the mattress, I realized that it was made of wood or hard ass cardboard. My first instinct was to grab some more watery Chinese beers from the front desk, to make the sleeping experience seem somewhat pleasurable.

However with little energy, an aching body, and loud traffic penetrating my ears from the bed side window; I determined to drag my sheets back onto the wooden mattress and crawl up into a ball for the night.

“Sleep tight, and don’t jump onto another Chinese bed ever again!” I grunted to myself before dozing off.

ZZzzzzzz ZZZzzzzzzzz ZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzz

Coming next: Part 5: “Hostel” (The freshman)

Leave a Reply

